Why I am Using Chakras to Help You Heal!

Chakras have been part of the Yogic tradition since the Tantra movement began 1500 years ago in India. Chakras were, in essence, a way of representing the five elements that the ancient Yogis believed were part of every human. Earth, Fire, Water, Air and Space were not only observed in the environment but they were also observed as elements within each person, according to the ancient texts. The Chakra system added on another layer, explaining that these elements could be in balance or out of balance within the body, affecting one’s health. Through understanding and using the Chakra system, a person could heal those parts that were out of balance.

I am currently doing a deep dive into Chakras through Joseph LePage’s course, The Art and Science of Yoga Therapy. I wish I had understood more about Chakras when I started teaching about them seven years ago. Back then I was aware of the basics, such as Chakras meant “wheel” in Sanskrit, and the location of the seven Chakras roughly corresponded with areas along the spine from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. I did incorporate simple online quizzes to help my clients and students discover imbalances. I provided them with basic asanas and even essential oils for nurturing the imbalanced chakras. I took the quizzes myself and discovered that I often felt imbalanced in my throat chakra. What I did not fully grasp was the symbolism of each Chakra, the meaning of the lotus petals, and why each Chakra had associated sounds attached.

These seed sounds, or Bijas as they are known in Sanskrit, (see the simplified chart I created below) actually create a vibration in the part of the body in which the Chakra is energetically placed.

The Healing Qualities of the Lotus Flower Petal and much more are revealed!

  • The symbols for the Chakras include the associated color, the element symbol and a lotus flower with a specific number of petals. The number of petals represented by each Chakra was carefully created based on the Sanskrit alphabet.
  • Speaking of the Sanskrit alphabet, the bottom three Chakras’ seeds sounds are alphabetically related to the consonants in Sanskrit while the top three are related to vowels. The number of petals of all the Chakras added together equals 50, the same number of the letters of the Sanskrit alphabet.  Pretty cool.
  • Each petal represents a core quality that could possibly be out of balance. For example, in the four petals of the Root Chakra, you could have four different imbalances and each one might need a slightly different practice to help you heal. In the Sacral Chakra, with six petals, there are six potential areas to balance. In the Solar Plexus Chakra, there are ten potential imbalances, the heart has 12 areas that could become imbalanced, the throat has 16 areas and the third eye could have two imbalances. In other words, depending on how you answer each question, this could really pinpoint what needs to be healed.
  • Using an example of the Root Chakra which has four petals each representing a quality that might need healing, a client might need support in embodiment, but not in the quality of stability. In this situation, I might recommend a meditation practice focusing on the Adhi Mudra using an affirmation such as “I am fully present in my body,” while helping the client practice particular asanas that could also be helpful to feel more parts of the body with comfort.  The Chakra system is very nuanced and can be a key to healing once the particular imbalanced quality is uncovered.  (See the petals and their qualities below.)


Lotus Petals are Key to Understanding Our Imbalances that Need Healing

The Root Chakra has 4 petals representing embodiment, connection to earth, abundance, security

The Sacral Chakra  has 6 petals representing abundant health energy, open to healing, self-nurturing, emotional autonomy, fluidity, joyful living

The Solar Plexus Chakra has 10 petals representing clear life purpose, intrinsic self-esteem, integrity, enthusiasm, conscious action, tolerance, selfless service, harmony, conservation of energy, non-judgment

The Heart Chakra has 12 petals representing positivity, gratitude, forgiveness, compassion, loving-kindness, communion, playfulness, appreciation of beauty, joyfulness, wonderment, serenity, universal love

The Throat Chakra has 16 petals representing commitment, purification, discipline, self-study, discernment, faith, non-attachment, simplicity, conscious presence, equanimity, lightness, grace, wholeness, inner silence, bliss, surrender.

The Third Eye Chakra has 2 petals representing clarity, steady knowledge

The Crown Chakra has 1,000 petals representing the connection to everything in the Universe. This is really not a Chakra.

As you can see, the Chakra system is much more complex than most of us realize and with the right guidance can be a very effective tool for healing.

Join me for an in-depth exploration of the Chakras over the next few months in my yoga classes which are offered online twice a week. (Sign up here) Also, I can work with you individually to help with healing whatever is ailing you through my growing knowledge and application of this ancient yogic tool. Next Fall, I will be offering in-depth Chakra healing through the Women’s Wellness Weekend at the Sundial on Sanibel.  You can find out more about this amazing event on their website. Click here.

Translate »

Get Instant Access to 5 Gentle Somatic Yoga Ways to Ease Chronic Low Back and Hip Pain

Join our mailing list to receive the weekly tips to Age Vibrantly No Matter What You Are Facing! 

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This